Topic Consumer protection Consumer Advisory Council

Function and composition of the Consumer Advisory Council

The Consumer Advisory Council is responsible for advising BaFin on issues related to its supervisory duties from a consumer’s perspective. The Consumer Advisory Council collects, analyses and reports to BaFin data relating to current developments in the banking and insurance businesses and in the areas of financial services and financial instruments (“consumer trends”).

The Consumer Advisory Council comprises 12 representatives: three from academia, four from consumer and investor protection organisations, three from extrajudicial dispute resolution schemes, one from the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz – BMJV) and one from trade unions.

Note on the Consumer Advisory Council

The Consumer Advisory Council is not responsible for accepting or replying to correspondence from members of the public or complaints. Information on how to complain to BaFin and further points of contact can be found here.

updated on 13.06.2018

Did you find this article helpful?

We appreciate your feedback

* Mandatory field

Additional information

Publications on this topic

Spec­u­la­tive prod­ucts: ES­MA agrees prod­uct in­ter­ven­tion mea­sures

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has agreed product intervention measures on binary options and on the provision of contracts for differences (CFDs).

Ini­tial coin of­fer­ings: BaFin pub­lish­es ad­vi­so­ry let­ter on the clas­si­fi­ca­tion of to­kens as fi­nan­cial in­stru­ments

For some time now, BaFin has been receiving an increasing number of queries enquiring whether tokens and virtual currencies (referred to as ”tokens“) marketed to investors in initial coin offerings (ICOs) are considered to be financial instruments. BaFin has now published an advisory letter in which it states its position on the regulatory classification of tokens in the field of securities …

The dig­i­talised fi­nan­cial world: a bless­ing or a curse for con­sumers?

Speech by Felix Hufeld President of the Federal Financial Supervision Authority (BaFin), on 30 November 2017 at the 5th BaFin Consumer Protection Forum in Frankfurt am Main

Cred­it-linked notes: BaFin de­cides not to pro­hib­it re­tail dis­tri­bu­tion

Following a nine-month monitoring phase, the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht – BaFin) has decided not to prohibit the distribution of credit-linked notes to retail clients. The Supervisory Authority monitored the issuance and distribution of these products intensively until the end of September 2017, and established that the voluntary …

CFD trad­ing: BaFin pub­lish­es guide­lines on ad­di­tion­al pay­ments obli­ga­tion

The Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt für FinanzdienstleistungsaufsichtBaFin) today published guidelines on trading in financial contracts for difference (CFDs). These guidelines are intended to serve as an aid for CFD issuers in adapting their conditions of contract so that retail investors are no longer offered contracts with an additional payments obligation. Such …


All documents