Function and composition of the Administrative Council

BaFin Administrative Council

The Administrative Council monitors the management of BaFin and supports BaFin in the performance of its supervisory functions. In addition, it is responsible for deciding on the budget of BaFin, which is funded completely by the companies it supervises and is thus not covered by the federal government's budget.

BaFin's President must keep the Administrative Council regularly informed of BaFin's management activities.

The Administrative Council comprises 17 voting members. The Federal Ministry of Finance appoints six members with technical knowledge and expertise in the subject. These can be stakeholders or persons in positions in financial industry associations or supervised entities, or scientific experts. Prior to appointing a member, the Federal Ministry of Finance will consult with the financial industry associations, which are entitled to recommend three of the six members.

The following Federal Ministries are represented on the Admimistrative Council:

  • the Federal Ministry of Finance (Bundesministerium der Finanzen – BMF)
  • the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie – BMWi)
  • the Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection (Bundesministerium der Justiz und für Verbraucherschutz – BMJV)

Members of the Administrative Council

As at: 2 January 2018

For the Federal Ministries

Dr Steffen, Thomas (Chairman)
Dr Holle, Levin (Vice Chairman)
Dr Wimmer, Eva
Dr L'Hoest, Raphael
Schaefer, Erich
Springeneer, Helga

For the German Bundestag

Flosbach, Klaus-Peter (member of parliament)
Kalb, Bartholomäus (member of parliament)
Zöllmer, Manfred (member of parliament)
Dr Zimmermann, Jens (member of parliament)
Dr Troost, Axel (member of parliament)

Experts from the private sector and academia

Dr Ossig, Christian (upon recommendation by the credit institutions)
Dr von Fürstenwerth, Jörg Frhr. Frank (upon recommendation by the insurance undertakings)
Richter, Thomas (upon recommendation by the asset management companies)
Prof. Dr Schnabel, Isabel (representative of academia)
Prof. Dr Haar, Brigitte (representative of academia)
Prof. Dr Wagner, Fred (representative of academia)

updated on: 13.03.2018

Did you find this article helpful?

We appreciate your feedback

* Mandatory field