Functions and composition of the Securities Council

Securities Council

The Securities Council advises BaFin in matters of securities supervision, for example when it comes to issuing regulations or establishing guidelines. However, the Council may also submit proposals of its own concerning the development of supervisory practice.

BaFin must report to the Securities Council at least once a year on its supervisory activities, the development of supervisory practice and international co-operation.

Each Federal State appoints one representative to the Securities Council. Representatives of the Federal Ministry of Finance, the Federal Ministry of Justice and the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology as well as representatives of the Deutsche Bundesbank are also entitled to attend the meetings of the Securities Council. The Securities Council may also consult experts from business and academia.

Members of the Securities Council

As at: November 2011

Ministerium für Finanzen und Wirtschaft Baden-Württemberg
(Baden-Wuerttemberg Ministry of Finance and Economics)

Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Technologie
(Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs, Infrastructure, Transport and Technology)

Senatsverwaltung für Wirtschaft, Technologie und Forschung Berlin
(Berlin Senat Department for Economics, Technology and Research)

Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Europaangelegenheiten Land Brandenburg
(Brandenburg Ministry of Economic and European Affairs)

Freie Hansestadt Bremen
Der Senator für Wirtschaft und Häfen
(Free Hanseatic City of Bremen – Senator for Economy, Employment and Ports)

Freie und Hansestadt Hamburg
Behörde für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Innovationen
(Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg – Departmental Authority for Economy, Transport and Innovation)

Hessisches Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Landesentwicklung
(Hessian Ministry of Economics, Transportation and State Development)

Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Tourismus Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
(Ministry for Economics, Construction and Tourism of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern)

Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr
(Ministry for Economics, Labour and Transport of Lower-Saxony)

Finanzministerium des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
(Ministry of Finance of North Rhine-Westphalia)

Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Verkehr, Landwirtschaft und Weinbau Rheinland-Pfalz
(Ministry of Economic Affairs, Transportation, Agriculture and Viniculture of Rhineland-Palatinate)

Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft Saarland
(Saarland Ministry for Economics and Science)

Sächsisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Arbeit und Verkehr
(Saxon State Ministry for Economic Affairs, Labour and Transport)

Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt
(Ministry of Science and Economic Affairs of Saxony-Anhalt)

Ministerium für Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Verkehr des Landes Schleswig-Holstein
(Ministry of Science, Economic Affairs and Transport of the State of Schleswig-Holstein)

Thüringer Finanzministerium
(Thuringian Ministry of Finance)

Did you find this article helpful?

We appreciate your feedback

* Mandatory field